Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey guys!!!

Just following culturesponge's idea, gonna talk to you a little bit about my current race wheelset.

After 6 months of waiting, i got my superlight Mack Hubs so YES, those hubs Mack is offering now on it's catalog were born because of a proposal i made to him! I didn't thought they were going to be that famous...well, at least the first pair ever build is mine :D :D

So my wheelset was build with:

- ZTR race 7000 rims (got them home for almost 1 year just to build this wheelset) that came at 279gr and 281gr

- Sapim SuperSpoke - i didn't weight them because i sent the rims and hubs to be laced by the best guy i know on building wheels: Robert Jungel from R2-Bike in Germany!

- Mack Superlight customized hubs that came at 81.8gr front one and 198.4gr rear one

And the wheelset with this pretty good weight of 1100gr

I've been riding them since October 2010 and so far so good! No problems at all! The hubs confirmed to be a great great choice! They spin so smooth..just like my olds American Classic! The freehub system is very similar to Tune Hubs and so is the freewheel sound!

The rims are great as everyone should know and the spokes make the wheel very stiff! When i built them i was at 82kg and rode them with no issues at all! Now i am at 76kg and the wheels are perfect as the first day!

Hope you guys like it! As you can see i have the wheels for 5months now but it seems like Mack hubs are having so much interest on that i thought it would be nice to share my feeback about them!

Cheers from Portugal

David

PS: sorry for having the pics each one at its size but don't remember where i put them on my pc so i had to pick them at some forums where they were!

·
Registered
186 Posts
Awesome :thumbsup:

Thinking of getting Mack's hubs as well. But the awaiting time is a bit scary.