Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
viva la v-brakes!
2,444 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm in a bit of a whole.

I signed myself up for the Leadville 100 back in February or so when I was in half decent shape from winter riding. Then I started my own business, and spent the better part of two months developing business plans, creating marketing materials, setting up bank accounts, meeting with clients.... etc. I have been slowly getting back on the bike for the past month, but progress is slow. I feel I have the base now for big miles and intense efforts, but my legs are weak and if today's ride is any indication I'm lacking in upper body strength too.

I am not very good at keeping to clockwork precision routines, so my plan was to include about 2 hard days a week with 2 long days a week and try to work out so that there are at least 2 days a week on the MTB (so 4-6 riding days a week). I am also putting a bike back together so I can do some urban/trials type riding to build up the upper body strength. Any suggestions for work-outs that will give me the most bang for the buck to get ready for an event like Leadville in just 7 weeks?!? And the last week will be mostly rest, so that makes 6 weeks. Did I mention that I'm also pretty bad and dealing with elevation.

Christ, I'm screwed.

·
Registered
927 Posts