Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Dirt Abuser
829 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Masochists:

1. Psychiatry. the condition in which sexual gratification depends on suffering, physical pain, and humiliation.
2. gratification gained from pain, deprivation, degradation, etc., inflicted or imposed on oneself, either as a result of one's own actions or the actions of others, esp. the tendency to seek this form of gratification.
3. the act of turning one's destructive tendencies inward or upon oneself.
4. the tendency to find pleasure in self-denial, submissiveness, etc.

Man, I go on a tough 4+ hr Mtb ride and I feel like I've been run over by a truck... I have never raced my rig, (FS XC) and probably never will. I've often thought of entering a beginners race, but....

Mtb XC must be one of the toughest individual effort sports out there.

·
Registered
2,376 Posts
I'm no expert, and haven't done many long XC races at all, but I think endurance racers are probably worse off than XCers. XC races don't last nearly as long :D

Pace seems to be way different (except at the higher levels), but mentality I think is different for me between racing for 1.5-2 hours and racing for 12 hours.

They both hurt; just in different ways. :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,393 Posts
aword4you said:
I'm no expert, and haven't done many long XC races at all, but I think endurance racers are probably worse off than XCers. XC races don't last nearly as long :D

Pace seems to be way different (except at the higher levels), but mentality I think is different for me between racing for 1.5-2 hours and racing for 12 hours.

They both hurt; just in different ways. :thumbsup: