Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have been running an XX1 setup on my Tallboy for about 6 months now, and it has always been a bit finicky to keep in adjustment. I am now at the point where I can either set it up to either shift cleanly in to the 42 or shift smoothly back down to the smaller gears. There doesn't seem to be a setting that will get me both. It seems like the shifter (Gripshift) just isn't pulling enough cable. I have lubed the derailleur and installed a new chain to no avail. Do I need a Bassworm? Any other ideas?

Shiftless in San Anselmo

·
Trail Tire TV on blogger
4,237 Posts
hanger adjustment is always my #1 go to with shifting issues.. 10 and 11 speed are even more finicky about it as everything is closer tolerances and it needs to be near perfect to get a clean smooth shift. having it work well in one section and not another is a key tell that the hanger is lightly tweaked.. get the tool.. check it regularly.. your drive train will not only shift better but last longer too. It'll pay for it's self in a yr or 2 off issues/shop visits.

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, Thomllama. I have the tool and gave the hanger a quick tweak for lateral straightness, but that may not have been enough. I am going to have to pay a quick visit to the Park site to see how to use the tool properly. Or just buy another hanger...

·
Trail Tire TV on blogger
4,237 Posts
Thanks, Thomllama. I have the tool and gave the hanger a quick tweak for lateral straightness, but that may not have been enough. I am going to have to pay a quick visit to the Park site to see how to use the tool properly. Or just buy another hanger...
new hanger won't always help.. often times if the hanger is bent the frame gets mildly tweaked along with it.. add a new hanger and it's still out.. use the tool.. fine tune the hanger.. rider better!!