Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
319 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all.. On a new kona process111 dl.. 4 or so rides about 6 miles each-- so maybe 25 miles....

Im new to 1x setup and the bike is running xx1... The problem im having is--- if I back pedal, the chain is kicked off of the 42 ring down to the next lower ring... when i start pedaling ill be in the wrong gear then it will auto jump back up to the 42 tooth ring (not something i want doing under high load)... This is a brand new bike-- with sram's top groupset on it-- does this sound right to you guys or is there a problem? I was thinking maybe it had to break in a bit(loosen up) and then it would stop doing that -- but so far-- it keeps doing it.. Any way to fix this?

·
Registered
68 Posts
i'm no expert, just talking out loud here. when spinning a chain backward you are for the most part taking away the RD ability to align the chain with the cog. since the front sprocket is theoretically aligned with center of the cassette I would assume pedaling backwards in that gear is no problem. but the more you move away from center the more the chain wants to return to that center position without the aid of the RD. from what I have read here this problem seems worse when dealing with larger gears, so I guess you could bias the front sprocket toward the bigger cog to aid in keeping the chain on when back pedaling. my guess is, that your bike is fine and you should just limit your back pedaling to only when you have to.

·
Registered
226 Posts
Have a look at the chain line when on the 42t. You can't fix it. Try to stay off the 42 if possible. Maybe try a smaller chainring. Also +1 don't pedal backwards....

·
Registered
343 Posts
I would check to make sure the hanger is totally trued to the rear wheel and then the wheel and cassette straight lined to the front chain wheel.

·
Registered
7,467 Posts