Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Still learning
876 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been running XTR brakes front and rear for about 6 months. In general great, but I've noticed a few issues with break wear.

1. Due to the rear caliper not being perfectly centered, when the lever is depressed and the pads pushed together, the left side (which is only barely not touching the pad, so there's no rub) first pushes the rotor, before eventually the right pad makes contact, only after which time braking starts. Somehow this has meant the right pad has worn most of the way down, but the left pad barely has anything taken out of it (would have thought more would have been taken off the left pad, since it's applying more pressure).
Placing a shim between the frame and caliper would only push the pad further in towards the rotor, causing it to rub, so doing that won't help, and the caliper is already as close to the frame as it can be, so there's no way to move the actual caliper.

2. The right pad also seems to be at a very slight angle, meaning that the lower half of the pad is worn more than the top, and the pad generally worn at an angle that's not parallel to the back plate of the pad. This is probably caused by #1 though, since the rotor is being pushed in (at an angle) before having sufficient pressure to bite.

The only thing I can think of is if there were some kind of adjustment screw to change the position of the pads/pistons, but I've looked at both the exploded view and technical docs, and can't see either.

Ideas?

·
Registered
6,762 Posts
First things first....