Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thoughts? I just rode an HD with X9...my first time experiencing any SRAM stuff...Ive been a shimano man all my life. Loved the X9!!! Any thoughts on the XO stuff for a burly bike like the HD?
Thanks!

·
Registered
214 Posts
My HD's running X0 now throughout, it's strong, light and looks a million $. I moved from XTR sometime ago on the majority of parts as I couldn't match the reliability of crisp shifting when comparing to the XTR on my other bike. I've no experience of SRAM X0 chainsets though, but do run a SRAM chainset in the form of a Truvativ Noir on my hardtail. For me, the XTR chainsets take some beating for slickness of shifting, but it's not pretty looking at the cost and even less pretty to cost out a replacement set of rings.... $$$
I haven't tried the latest gen of XTR but until XX, X0 was always completely up there (better IMHO) with XTR.
Go SRAM, if u look smart and aren't bothered about having 10x setup, you can get previous gen X0 for cheap now and it's superb.
Happy trails on the HD, great choice of ride :)

·
Registered
2,375 Posts
Just upgraded my SL to XT Dynasys 10sp.... it's REALLY nice. They've taken a step toward SRAM in the shifting feel department....rear shifting has a much more pronounced CLACK, but it still feels lighter and more refined, which was always an area where Shimano was tops IMO, and now even more so. I also prefer Shimano's trigger setup, where you can shift it with your forefinger or thumb. I was really surprised at how much improved the shifting is over my not-very-old 9sp XT... .I thought I was just getting a 10th extra low cog, but the improvements go deeper than that.
They're both so good, and opinions are so divided.... you could probably just pick based on shifter feel and cosmetics and be a happy camper either way.

·
Registered
217 Posts