Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys, I just bought a XC hardtail MTB and I don't know what pedal will I use. My friend told me to use a clipless but the problem is, Im just new in the sports. I prefer to use a platform first. Can you give me a suggestion what platform pedal will I use for my XC hardtail MTB. Thanks in advance.

·
RAKC
7,599 Posts
There is a ton of options but primary thing, get ones that have replaceable pins. Depending on ur budget, what kind of trails u ride, how big of guy you r all matter in what kind you will work best. How much yr willing to spend matters too. Figure spending minimum $50 for quality ones, unless u catch them on sale. Xpedo, spank, others make great light weight pedals if ur not a big guy. They also make pedals that aren't speced as xc, listed as dowhill (dh)/freeride(Fr) but us bigger guys go that route.

I myself just got a pair of crank brothers 5050 pedals, and imo are amazing for $50. Came highly recommended since im close to 270lbs. Not the lightest, but pretty damn good for a dh rated pedal.

As for clipless, learning on platforms is truly best so u learn proper technique. Clipless create bad/lazy habits because technique matters less. Once u have learned flats decently give clipless a go, because at that point (and u are used to handling your bike since sometimes u can't unclip in time to bail) it becomes a personal preference and u could see gains and like them. The gain is u can lift up the leg that's coming back up without coming off the pedals, that leg itself doesn't help power on its own pulling up, but it takes away the weight of that leg for the one that pushing down and applying power. Makes being more efficient much easier.