Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

Total newb question here, so no laughing. At least not too hard, please! :thumbsup:

I'm curious if there are any lightweight, coil sprung forks made with the intention of XC/race use still?

Probably not since air seems to rule the roost for lightweight suspension bits.

I used to ride long ago on an elastomer fork, and now I'm back into riding. A buddy rides freeride/DH and he swears by coil forks. Loves the durability, but mostly loves the feel of the fork. He would build up his ideal bike with a coil fork, regardless of the intended purpose. I love to race, but I'm wondering if there's any forks less than 4.25-4.75lbs with a spring?

Are they going/have they already gone the way of the dodo? Can you tune something like a Recon SL to be even lighter?

Maybe some dumb questions, but I'm really curious. Thanks!

·
Old man on a bike
12,395 Posts
Somewhat depends on the travel of the fork. If you're looking for a light 80-100mm fork it's pretty much air and expensive these days. The Fox VanR 140 is in the low 4 lb range.

·
Registered
7,952 Posts
Modern air forks are a lot better than you think, and work very well for cross country riding. Don't be afraid to buy one.

There's a user on here named robh who just recently tried air after being a staunch coil guy for a long time. You might want to ask his opinion.

·
Go back to school
648 Posts
First off, there are tons of threads about coil vs air. See if you can scrounge on up with a forum search. Other than that...

+1 on bad mechanic

I would say your friend is bias about his coil suspension because he is a downhill/freeride rider. Those guys just want as much small bump compliance as they can get with as little maintenance as possible. There are three main complaints about air suspension...pretty much all have been addressed in late model air suspension.