Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I'm the newest noob here. I just spent way too much time searching so I decided to post. Here's the deal:

My wife and I have both ridden pretty seriously together since about 1999. I used to work at a shop in UT while we were in college, and she got the bug. We both rode GF Sugars (I had the opportunity to proform GF, Cannondale, Jamis and RockyMtn at the shop). She has a 2000 Sugar 3, the year before they came out with the Genesisters model. Now she has the bug to race (even though we're now in MI, with NO MOUNTAINS...Bah!) but since having our son, she's said her bike isn't as comfortable or even tolerable as it was before. I wanted to upgrade her bike significantly for her birthday this spring to encourage her racing itch, but now I'm wondering if it would just be better to go WSD for her? I could fudge it with a shorter/steeper stem, scoot her seat closer, etc, but sometimes there's just no substitute for a bike that fits right.

Any thoughts? Also, when I left the shop in 2003, the only people making WSD bikes that I know of were GF, Cdale, Specialized, Trek and Giant. I've found some others from my searching, is there a list compiled somewhere of the mfgs that make WSD bikes now?

Thanks for reading this monster

·
Registered
1,431 Posts
I'll just get this comment over with for everyone...you're gonna have to bring her in on the decisions..SHE needs to try everything out and decide what's comfortable for HER...not YOU deciding what's comfortable for HER...even if you want it to be a secret, forget it...you need her input...