Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
I need more time
157 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:) I was reading a review on the santa Cruz super eight from this web site cause i wa slucky enough to see one the other day. Classy Bike. But one of the reviews given about it said, ''this bike sucks i did a measly 60ft drop and it broke''. i had to laugh. 60ft thats bound to be impossible and that well apart from solid objetcts such as rocks and tennis balls what would survive that. The i remembered a vid i have about the red bull tournament (note i'm a total beginner) and that those guys were doing some of the most amazing stuff ever on a bike. Then just this evening when i was in work (a local petrol station) i was gazing up at the canopy over the petrol pumps and thought hmmm imagine if i could drop off that on my bike, then i rmeber the 60ft thing i read. So i went out and checked the four court hieght. 3.6 metres or very nearly 12 feet and i was like WOW no way 60ft has to be impossible coz thats 5 time this height and the canopy is bloddy high enough. Then i just read a post by ''theotherloserkid'' about his first 15 feet drop (well done young man, i'm only 16 myself) so i thought rite i should post somehting and find out what other think. So thats my story up to why i'm typing this and basically i'd like to know are 60ft jumps possible and what its like to do jumps that are 15ft. Ive only gone over my first dowhill type track with in the last week and its in a local forest park. I live in northern ireland where there is nothing for mtbing. well hardly any. and the biggest jump i can do is about 3-4ft and to me thats pretty scary. tho i've only got a hardtail with judy forks so i donno if the bike would take any more let alone me haveing the balls to go over anythign bigger cause i still have some sort of accident on the drop abou 75% of the time.