Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

I've got a new Tallboy LTa with M615 brakes on it, which seem to be working fine. However, I'm looking to sell my Trek Cobia HT, which I had SLX brakes installed on in the past 6 months. I'm wondering if you think it is worth moving the SLX brakes to the LT and putting the M615s on the Cobia for selling? I've read quite a few threads on the differences between these two brakes and it looks like there may be no difference in stopping power, but that the SLX has more adjustment features.

I'm still learning to do basic maintenance on my bikes, and I'm hesitant to try to do the brake swap myself. From what I can tell, a local shop might charge around a $100 to do this. Is the swap worth it?

Thanks!

·
Cactus Cuddler
1,818 Posts
The Deore brakes are already quite good, the only noticeable to me thing you'd be gaining is the reach adjust - which is nice, but only worth the swap if you feel confident moving them over - for a $100 price difference, not worth it at all.
Since you're not having to bleed them, it's a straightforward changeover, and totally worth the DIY to move them over - use fresh zip ties and you'll be set.

·
Registered
1,686 Posts
As mentioned above, for no cost it's worth swapping.
If you had to pay for it the better money would be spent on a larger rotor/adaptor.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the responses. I'm going to follow tehllama's advice and see if I can move them over intact -- without the need for bleeding (which I don't have a kit for at the moment).

·
MCMXCV
1,308 Posts
Buy some twine and then you can quickly and accurately measure each brake line so you don't have to spend time on switching and realigning if they're too long/short.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #6