Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. This is my first post on the boards. I just bought a Motobecane 700HT and am a complete beginner. I'm trying to find a good trunk rack to put on my '95 honda civic 4 dr. sedan. Any suggestions?

·
rider
2,356 Posts
OklaDan said:
Hey everyone. This is my first post on the boards. I just bought a Motobecane 700HT and am a complete beginner. I'm trying to find a good trunk rack to put on my '95 honda civic 4 dr. sedan. Any suggestions?
The funky Hollywood rack is actually a pretty good rack. I have one, and many of my buddys have them as well. They were all yard sale bought and IIRC the most anyone paid is about $5. Keep an eye on the straps for UV damage. They may not be super bomber looking racks but I have never seen one fail.

·
Former Bike Wrench
15,976 Posts
Saris or Thule

I've owned several over the years and had the best luck with a Thule (that finally died after 10+ years of use) and I now have a Saris Guardian that works very well and has nice anti-sway straps to keep your bike from swinging on the rack (and thus into another bike or your car). I also once owned a Rhode Gear and it was crap. Only lasted about a year and neither protected my bike and car very well.

Hope this helps :thumbsup:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the info! I'm also looking at the Saris Bones bike rack. I'm not going to be going on any long trips as of yet, but when I do, I don't want to have to buy a new rack to secure my bike. I'm gonna stop by my LBS today and see what they have.

·
Registered
22 Posts
OklaDan said:
Thanks for the info! I'm also looking at the Saris Bones bike rack. I'm not going to be going on any long trips as of yet, but when I do, I don't want to have to buy a new rack to secure my bike. I'm gonna stop by my LBS today and see what they have.