Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am pretty new to mtn biking and some of my friends and I are going camping at Wilson Island next week (26-28) and I convinced them to bring their bikes. We all have decent mtn bikes and I hear Wilson Island has easy trails. Are there any other good areas around? I know of Lewis & Clark. Anyone ride there? if so would you care to show a beginner how its done? I am very interested in getting into the sport as a regular. Any info would be great.

·
The Weatherman
304 Posts
danran24 said:
I am pretty new to mtn biking and some of my friends and I are going camping at Wilson Island next week (26-28) and I convinced them to bring their bikes. We all have decent mtn bikes and I hear Wilson Island has easy trails. Are there any other good areas around? I know of Lewis & Clark. Anyone ride there? if so would you care to show a beginner how its done? I am very interested in getting into the sport as a regular. Any info would be great.
Yeah, Wilson Island is a very easy offroad ride. Nice doubletrack trails though and you should definitely bring your bikes. If I remember correctly there are about 10 miles of trail. Best yet is that the trailhead is right at the camping area!

Just don't expect any serious mountain biking and you will have a nice ride. Very flat doubletrack with zero technical challenge. Just a nice spin through awesome scenery and a chance to see a ton of deer, turkey, birds, etc.

Here is a link to a trail map:

http://www.iowadnr.gov/parks/images/maps_pictures/wilsonmap.pdf