Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking for a new bike and getting a little overwhelmed looking at all my options. I have way too many questions, but I'll try to just ask one at a time.

I've been riding a schwinn hardtail for the past 2 years and want/need a trail-worthy bike before this next fall. It has always been my understanding that I would not be able to afford a good FS (~1000 budget), so I've resigned myself to shopping for hardtails.

Now I've come across a used Jamis dakar xc that comes in under my budget, and this has given me hope that I might be able to find a FS in my price and be happy with it. The person has upgraded the fork to a fox F-100 RL
My only 2 concerns with this bike are the size (its a 17 and Im 6') and the fact that its a XC, and not a trail or AM bike.
80-90% of the riding I do would probly fall under the XC category, but there are a few trails that my buddy loves to ride on his hifi that include some nasty rock gardens and a few 3-4 ft drops. I'm worried that an XC bike would not be able to handle these and I would be pushing the bike past its potential.

If the Jamis is a no-go I would probly fall back to a gary fisher tassajara or trek 6500 (if I feel like really stretching my budget), but I still dont look forward to riding those trails on a hardtail.

Any feedback would be appreciated. I wish I could talk with a local bike shop and have them pick me out a bike that fits my needs perfectly without having them just picking the most expensive model from whatever brand they carrry. but hey, thats what the internet is for, right?:D

·
Registered
242 Posts
17 might be to small for your size.Dakar has had some break issues and a 100 mm shock is a little short for 4 foot drops at your size.

59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·