Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1,165 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Sorry if this has been addressed in previous posts, but...

1. Course - Are there any course descriptions out there?

2. Lodging - I googled Coburn, PA, and it sounds like it is smaller than Mayberry...

Thanks,

R

·
Registered
2,077 Posts
you could get a hotel in state college?

the singletrack is rocky fun goodness...

i hear there is a lot of fireroad to break up said rocky fun goodness... i also hear lots of the rocky fun goodness comes late in the race.

sorry it is my first year out there as well and i plan on camping.

only time i rode out there was for the singlespeed worlds a couple years back and the terrain is awesome! not what you'd call easy... me and my singlespeed look forward to reuniting with the rocks.

·
Registered
767 Posts
Coburn is maller than Mayberry indeed. I stayed in State College last year, woke up mega early and made the drive in quick. There's NO traffic at 4:30 a.m. :) Of course you can also camping for free right at the start/finish.

There is a ton of climbing, mostly on fire roads and forest service roads, there of course is then a lot of down hills mostly on rocky break open a kidney single track. They put on a great race and make it worth you while and entry fee. Good luck.

·
Prez NMBA
719 Posts
for what its worth theres a map and elevation profile on the www.nittanymba.org site under the maps button. its in the neighborhood of 70% gravel road 30% trail, nothing too crazy technical at least as us locals are concern. as has been said, coburn is tiny, theres a b&b or two around it that cater to the trout fishing crowd, you might be able to scare something up there. theres also the milheim hotel, i think they still do rooms, just up the road from coburn but i heard a few guys grubmling about it as its right on the main drag and the kids like to race their cars up and down there all night on fridays.

·