Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding a EA70 1" rise 650mm. Not sure how old it is. I have been having trouble with my index finger and thumb going numb since I started riding about 18m ago. I had some Ergon grips but after I put on some ODI grips and the issue remained I knew that wasn't the issue. I moved the brake levers down to help keep my hand a bit more on top. I moved the grips out 100mm and I love the way the bike rides but it made the problem a little worse. As it turns out I am applying too much pressure to the saddle of my grip. That area where the thumb and index meet and bend. I can move my thumb up top and the numbness goes away.

So my next experiment is to try a bar with a bit more sweep? Maybe a shorter stem too?

I ride AM/trl with some XC loops for fitness. The numbness is more noticeable when going down hill.

Im not not a small guy. 5-10" 190. Most my weight is up top. I'm barrel chested and have a bit if a gut. I'm riding a 2010 Rip9. Saddle is set for optimum pedal comfort and power. A bit back. Maybe 10mm from center. The stem is a 100mm 6degree.

Any suggestions where here to go from here? What bars to look at, rise, sweep, width.

Thanks for for your time.

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm not gripping too tight. I think it's more along the line of heavy hands. Or more like a heavy top end. How can I make lighten up the pressure on my hands? Like I said above, the problem got worse with wider bars. More rise? Shorter Stem? More sweep? All of the above?

·
Registered
1,556 Posts
I had a similar issue many years ago while riding flat bars. Mine never went numb, but I felt sore after a ride. I was leaning so much forward that all that extra pressure was between my thumbs and index fingers. I went to a shorter stem (100mm to 85mm) and 2" riser bar. This put me in a more upright position which put the bar more into my hands.

·
Banned