Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
I plead the fizif
140 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Admittedly, I am a born-again noob. I just bought myself a 2007 Gary Fisher Wahoo this year for Christmas and am really enjoying riding again. I believe this is the first time I have been on a bike in about 16 years, since I used to have to peddle to drivers training every day. I am trying to understand why so many people seem to be upgrading many of the components on their bikes. They buy a bike, and then immediately change the crank, cassette, derailleurs, grips, etc. Are all of the stock components on my bike (or any bike) really that bad? What is the difference between the stock derailleur and an SRAM $225 model? Every time I hit the shift lever, it shifts. What more do I need? Do people really spend this kind of dough just to save a few ounces? I need to drop about 80 pounds off of myself before I would even think that saving a few ounces on my bike would be worth anything at all.

Tron

·
Registered
286 Posts
I think you need to try out the upgrades before you can really understand why people do it. Some do it for the weight will others go for better performance, ie multiple gears shifting at once. The reason for this is so that you can shift to a certain gear closer to the hill then having to keep clicking. Another big upgrade is the shocks. A top of the line shock that allows you to tune the rebound will really make your ride smooth and hold up to more abuse. Upgrading cranks give you a stiffer BB area so that a huge chunk of your pedalling goes right to the tire not in the crank moving around and flexing. upgraded wheels are lighter with less rolling resistance and tend to be stronger also. if you are just mountain biking for fun and exercise you don't need crazy upgrades, it mostly for the die hard I want to go faster types (like me and many others). But please don't be on of those guys that think better components will make you a cycling god.