Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I am new to this so please bear with me. Why not just convert 29ers to 650Bs? Seems to solve tire rub issues. I have an older SC Blur "Classic", but just can't get it to work due to tire rub and that got me looking at my 29er hard tail and just wondering. I put the borrowed set of 650Bs and the 29er did just fine to me, obstacle rollover was better than the 26er and the tight, tech, single track was better than the 29er. (I did miss the full suspension.)

I know a 26" will be a lighter conversion and the bottom bracket will be lower, but what else am I failing to consider?

·
Uncle
4,388 Posts
BB clearance & wheelbase

pisgahrider said:
I am new to this so please bear with me. Why not just convert 29ers to 650Bs? Seems to solve tire rub issues. I have an older SC Blur "Classic", but just can't get it to work due to tire rub and that got me looking at my 29er hard tail and just wondering. I put the borrowed set of 650Bs and the 29er did just fine to me, obstacle rollover was better than the 26er and the tight, tech, single track was better than the 29er. (I did miss the full suspension.)

I know a 26" will be a lighter conversion and the bottom bracket will be lower, but what else am I failing to consider?
Putting b-wheels on a 29er will lower the bottom bracket by ~1". On most frames, this will result in lots of pedal strikes (pedals hitting obstacles), which are at minimum a power-robbing, flow-stopping PITA, and at worst will cause hard crashes. Also, 29ers tend to have a longer wheelbase, which to many riders isn't a good quality.

·
Registered
5,987 Posts
If you have the frame and wheel set, there's no reason not to try it. The lower BB is the largest consideration. If your 29er has a high BB height, it would likely work fine.