Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
874 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Maybe more of a road bike question than a mountain bike question. I have no experience with Lefties but from people who do I always hear that despite appearance, they're often stiffer than traditional forks and weigh less. So, why don't they make them rigid using the same principals? Seems like for road bikes you could also cut down on drag a little using the same idea since that is always a selling point on the high end frames.

And there's my random thought for the day.

Coming tomorrow, why lefty and not righty? :D

·
Registered
261 Posts
I think when people state that lefties are stiffer they are referring to the flex that can occur given the enginerring of a suspension system. I don't believe those same characteristics would apply to a rigid for. SO, why then would you want a rigid lefty? It limits your headset and hub options, offers no known performance benefit, and would probably just be a reason for them to charge way too much money for something silly.

·
Registered
234 Posts
mtnbiker72 said:
The fork leg would need to be a pretty big diameter (much like the Lefty suspension fork) so my guess is that it would create MORE drag...plus it looks funny so the UCI would ban it ;)

PS-here's your righty
UCI wouldn't ban it cause it looks funny.They would ban it because it is DIFFERENT !:eek:

·
Registered
581 Posts
BostonBoy said:
I think when people state that lefties are stiffer they are referring to the flex that can occur given the enginerring of a suspension system. I don't believe those same characteristics would apply to a rigid for. SO, why then would you want a rigid lefty? It limits your headset and hub options, offers no known performance benefit, and would probably just be a reason for them to charge way too much money for something silly.