Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay, I assume I am going to get a lot of snarky remarks on this one, but here it goes...

I have noticed lately that on some of my more intense climbs (4 miles 2000 ft elevation gain) that my crotch is going numb. I wear padded shorts/leggings, but this does not seem to help on the climbs. I have been riding regularly (3-4 times a week) for 7 months after a 5 year hiatus from riding (however I have spent the last two years spinning 3-4 times a week, so I am no stranger to bike saddles). I am looking for a new bike right now so I just wanted to know if there is anything I should ask the LBS guy when test riding bikes and getting close to the buying stage. Is it more than the saddle? Is it the fit of my current bike?

Thanks!

P.S. I have taken about 8 bikes for test rides (FS and hardtail and one dreamy 4K bike). So far the GF Tassajara fits me like a glove and is in my budget. I have heard the saddle is a piece of crap though.

·
Thread Killer
771 Posts
^^ditto with the new posts

my gf got a specialized (brand) women-specific seat that she LOVES (no, not like that). she says it's a lot more comfy than any of the stock bike seats she tried

·
Registered
156 Posts
OK... I am an actual woman and not a man lurking around on our only place :nono: . hhhhhh.... kay so anyways... Terry saddles. I use the butterfly on both bikes. I was having the same problem and I kept trying to change the tilt with no real luck. I didn't want to spend the $$ or give up my padded saddles but it was well worth it. If there is a woman who works at your LBS talk to her about it. They have different cuts on the saddles for different needs... wide hips... chafing... etc... Hope this helps.

·
Trail Goddess
988 Posts