Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hello i need advice to improve my fitness...

i started riding again this spring after a 14 yr break. so far i've lost 12 pounds,quit smoking.

by the end of the summer i was riding 3 times a week (mainly singletrack) 8-12 miles twice during the week (after work) and 15-24 miles on my weekend ride. my lungs have snapped back into shape rather well,and my heartrate (eventho i dont have a HRM yet) feels ok.

my big problem is my legs just die 3-6 miles into any ride (even on road). after reading other posts here i started drinking more water,eating bannas.etc. the only thing i can think of is im on my feet all day at work (i make and install conveyer belts) we work and walk fast all day.

i'm far from racing but inspire too. maybe might try a beginner race towards the mid-end season.just need some *insight* from all you racers.

fyi i'm 37yrs old 5'10" tall 180lbs i ride a 19" 96' c-dale f500 @24 pounds and dropping (i wont bore you with my bike). but it is well maintained.

this winter when i cant hit the trails or road i do get on my trainer for a good 20-30 minute *romp* 2-3 times a week it was a cheap freeby doesnt have a distance/computer...
sorry if this is a bothersome topic,if i need to move this. mods let me know

·
Registered
525 Posts
I think that's somewhat of a common feeling

I feel weak and sluggish until I'm about 20 minutes into most rides

Do you feel yourself picking back up again?

Is it your legs or more likey your overall energy level?

working with at least a cycle computer might help you to realize that after a bit you get "through" that feeling and are actually riding faster after getting warmed up?

·
Registered
270 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
2silent said:
I think that's somewhat of a common feeling

I feel weak and sluggish until I'm about 20 minutes into most rides

Do you feel yourself picking back up again?