Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Fragile - must be Italian
2,308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I built up my SS last month, I was told to get a King Kog instead of a cheaper Shimano DX type cog. So I plunked down my $35 and got a 17t stainless cog. It's nice, but pricey.

Now I want to get other size cogs so I can swap them out depending on the terrain. $35 a piece is a little more than I was hoping to spend. Does anybody else make a cog as good (or better) than King for less money?

Does Boone Ti make SS cogs?

I think I've seen posts about other companies that make SS cogs too, but I can't find them in the search/archives anywhere. If you have information about other companies that make good SS cogs, please share...

Sorry I sound like such a newbie. I'm still learning the SS thang...

Thx...Doug

·
Steamroller
1,227 Posts
Boone are the best in my opinion

Here is the website, http://boonerings.com/cr/cr.html. Talk to Brett and see what his lead time is and then be flexible with what he tells you. Making cogs is not his highest priority, he fits them in as he can.

The Path in Tustin CA has been stocking a few boone cogs, you might want to give them a call.

·
Fragile - must be Italian
2,308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I'm using a Nuke Proof hub

shiggy said:
What hub are you using? If it has a steel freehub body you can use the cheap steel Shimano or Novatech cogs.
My hubs are Nuke Proof hubs (carbon fiber ones). I believe the body is steel because a magnet will stick to it.

Some people at the LBS told me that even with a steel hub, the cheap thin Novatech cogs will dig into the freewheel body. Is this not true? My SS conversion came with a cheapo 18t cog (probably made by Novatech).

Thx...Doug

·
Registered
605 Posts
Novatech cogs

dgangi said:
Some people at the LBS told me that even with a steel hub, the cheap thin Novatech cogs will dig into the freewheel body. Is this not true?