Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Yay! Bikes !
1,761 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a total newb to tubeless/UST setups. If you have no patience for dumb questions, please back away from the computer now.

1st Q: does UST mean tubeless, and vice versa? (or is UST a trademarked Mavic term?)

2nd Q: I have some UST rims. I have a stack of different High Rollers and Minions, even a couple of Blue Grooves, none of which are UST. I understand these tires may work with sealant. Have any of you had good success with this setup?

If using non UST tires works; is there an advantage to buying UST versions of my preferred tires?

Pros / Cons to both setups?

Thanks.

·
Lay off the Levers
10,127 Posts
UST is a form of tubeless tires. Many companies use it.
You can mount std tires on a UST rim with tube, and many can be run as tubeless with sealant. Be mindful that many/most std tires don't have the same sidewall strength/stiffness as their UST counterpart tires and may be rolly/floppy at lower pressures.

Some ppl have great success with sealant. Some find it a royal PITA. YMMV

The primary difference between a std tire & Rim and a UST combo is how the tire interlocks with the rim. The UST is designed to be air tight where a std tire & rim are not. Also the inside wall of a UST is supposed to be more air tight than a std tire. These are the some of the reasons sealant is required for going tubeless on a std tire.

Pros of going true UST/UST is it just flat out works, no fuss no problems.
Pros of going std/tubeless: can be lighter, greater choice of tires, can be cheaper. (not always lighter or cheaper)

Cons of UST: fewer choices, sometimes more expensive.
Cons of std-tubeless: sealant can be a pita, sometimes trouble with certain tire/rim combos, may have flexy sidewalls. (not always on any of this)

You can run sealant in a full UST setup if you ride with lots of thorns & such.