Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
EDR
10,433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm heading to Pinetop tomorrow for some recreation with the family and some riding. I'm a White Mountain Trail System newbie and plan on riding Los Burros and Buena Vista areas on my own. Tomorrow is reserved for my son (10 years old) and myself to hit some easy riding but if any locals are interested in showing me around on Thurs or Friday (and maybe Sat.) send me a pm. I'd love to see the 'local' version of the trails.

I'm no expert level but can certainly hold my own, barring any puking from the altitude change, lol.

Shoot me a pm if interested. Thanks - Jamie

·
JBiker
32 Posts
No Can Do

Would normally be happy to show someone around, but unfortunately, the job takes me to the valley for the next few days. Drat.

Anyway, we got some rain in the area yesterday. Not enough to really cause a problem yet, but if we get another round or two of T-stroms, things could get ugly. Watch out for mud especially on the lower elevation trails. If you were up here for TOWM last year, you know what the warning is about . . .

Have fun!

·
JBiker
32 Posts
Oh yeah, forgot to mention this, but the Apache-Sitgreaves Forest closed a bunch of areas effective Tuesday morning at 8:00 a.m.. The Buena Vista may be included, as their press released described an area, "east of highway 60 and south of Show Low to the reservation line" as being closed . Could not access their closure map on the web site, and did not ride over that way to check for closure markers yesterday. Check with the USFS for clarification before you head out into that area.

Los Burros is specifically listed as still being open.

·
Mommy's Little Monster
55 Posts
Hardly any hiking or biking in the Show Low/Pinetop area? Might just have to go further up the mountain to have some fun. Something tells me that I'm not the only one here in Phoenix with that idea though.

·
EDR
10,433 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·