Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Cholla Magnent
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

I just signed up for the WO, the 25 miler. I am new to this event. Looking at the course profile and reading up on it it seems to be a killer. Looks like 16 or so miles of climbing, Iike doing Mt. Lemmon, on a MTB! I don't mind climbing, but what I wanted to know is the climbing technical? Anyone know the average grade? I think I might of gotten in over my head!

·
Elitest thrill junkie
37,958 Posts
On trail 48 its technical and very steep @ times, a lot of up and down and a good steep climb @ the end. The rest is steady and not overly steep.

·
Cholla Magnent
194 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info. Looks like the Trail 48 section is not that long. So if I have to hike a' bike for a bit I don't mind!

·
aka Diesel
1,249 Posts
You'll be in good company. This could be easily be called the Whiskey Off-Bike if you're not fond of climbing. Plenty of people end up walking their bikes at various times, but if you've done Mt Lemmon, then you have a pretty good idea of what to expect. I'm in for the 25, single speed, as usual. *insert groan*

·
Monocog Masher
161 Posts
The climbs are tough, but the downhill sections will also take a lot out of you. You wouldn't think riding downhill would be exhausting, and normally it isn't, but it is in this race.

·
Registered
632 Posts
..25 will hurt and fiddy will hurt real bad. Sure will be hard to convince myself to make that Skull Valley route, knowing the pain involved coming back up. Just focus on the party in town after the finish.
Like this guy says, we must be on drugs like LA, haha :D
This must be the reason we ride hard and keep coming back for more.

·
Old and Slow
121 Posts
In for the 25 (which is actually nearly 29) again......you would think I would learn. But hey, I am a glutton for punishment!

·
Registered
21 Posts