Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
760 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Part accumulation continues and looking for a suitable wheelset. I am a non racer old guy who rides mostly flat fireroads albeit somewhat aggressively. I weigh 190#. I would like a mid-ish price point wheelset and like to not go over 2000 gram weight or so for the set. 28 spoke count OK for training wheels or is 32 better?
Can you provide advice what you have had personal good experience with...staying in true in particular?
Many Thanks.

·
Registered
410 Posts
I have a set of WTB laser Disc 29ers that are great. They can be had for a good price and are super strong. In fact I am ordering another set for my new paragon in the next few weeks. They are 32 hole and are sub 2000g. Definatley check them out.

·
Registered
1,652 Posts
I have a set of dt swiss 240s hubs built to x470 rims that I've been riding for about 2 years that have yet to be trued, or serviced in any way for that matter. I'm about 170lb without gear. I'd highly recommend them. Wheels come in about 1800 g, although slightly on the pricey side they've been bomb proof for me through miles of rocky, rooty north and south carolina trails and some racing.

Unfortunately that's all my experience with 29er wheels so I can't recommend anything else. Or to look at it another way, fortunately it's the only set I've needed so I'd highly recommend them.

Also the 36 step ratchet upgrade is cool and gets the engagement up if that's important to you.

·
Registered
541 Posts
I just had a wheel set nuilt for my 09 Cobia. Stans Flows, Hope Pro II, Sram 990 cassette, and DT Swiss 10mm thru bolt front and rear. They where built by Chad at Red Barn Bicycles

http://www.redbarnbicycles.com/home.html

To be honest I canot tell you the weight on the wheel set. But I can tell you that the price was very reasonable. The tires I added that wasn't part of the build.

Attachments

·
Registered
248 Posts