Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
681 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone....

I am still a relative newbie at wheel building. I have built about 6 sets (12 wheels) so far that have held up pretty well. They were all using DT or Wheelsmith straight spokes (not butted). Now, I'm looking to shed a little weight and I've also heard that butted spokes can make a springier and stronger wheel, so I'd like to give them a try. However, I'm getting mixed responses about the use of butted spokes on a disc wheelset. I see that DT swiss says that you can use their Alpine III (very heavy) or Super Comps (2.0mm/1.7mm/1.8mm) for disc wheels. However, super comps are $1.50 a spoke (ouch!). I see that Wheelsmith has some double butted spokes for $0.49 that are double butted (2.0mm/1.7mm/2.0mm) but they don't say whether or not they are okay for disc applications. What do you guys think? I would really rather not pay for the supercomps if possible, but I will if it is necessary.

These wheels will be for my single speed and use a spot disc rear hub and shimano xt disc front and mavic f519 rims. Please let me know what you guys think.

Thanks!

Gabe

·
Super Moderator
48,237 Posts
The Wheelsmiths will work fine. You might find them to be a bit flexy for the rear wheel. I tried DT 1.8/1.6/1.8 (flexier than the WS) and did not like them. 2.0/1.8/2.0 spokes may be a better choice.

I really like the Sapim CX-Rays but they are getting VERY expensive as the Euro gets stronger.

·
Do It Yourself
5,720 Posts
The Alpine III are still lighter and stronger than straight 14G and meant for DH use. The SuperComps are the lighter XC version but also triple butted. From a performance perspective, the butted spokes are fine for disc wheels as long as long as you don't get too extreme with DT Revolutions or WS XL spokes. WS DB14s are very reasonably priced (oddsandendos.com has them for 50-60 cents with choice of nipples included).