Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to the MTB era. I'm an ex BMXer and MXer and looking to buy a hardtail in the price range of 500-700.

I've test road many bikes and I'm caught between the Fisher Tassajara and the Specialized rockhopper comp. I've ridden both bikes a few times and can't decide. They feel similiar and I believe the components are similiar in comparison.

I was hoping someone could point me in the right direction.

My riding style consists of off road trails. I like to do anything that is scary and dangerous, thus needing a heavy duty bike. I've been told that no bike is indestructible, but I would like it to hold up under harder riding conditions.

Does anyone have any advice for a newbee?

Thanks,

PH

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That's what I've been hearing from others but I wanted to get some more opinions on the issue.

I keep hearing that most people love the Fisher but I don't usually get responses about the Specialized.

Thanks for the response.

PH

·
Registered
5,136 Posts
pick the Tass.

I ride specialize stumpjumper FSR. In your situation, both Tass and rockhopper are good bikes however, the rockopper has one very annoying engineering drawback. The shifting cable for front derailuer runs along downward tube as bare cable. When this gets dirty, it causes your shifting to be slower. I don't know why specialized has change this design.

I would pick the Tass because the shifting cable is not exposed like the specialized. You have to check the Tass at bike shop for shifting cable location.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
This is almost overwhelming. Now I'm looking at Kona's???

What is the hardest riding bang for the buck in my price range? Is there others I should be looking at?

What bike can stand up to abuse?

Thanks,

PH

·
Registered
10 Posts
Hardrock worth it?

mr plow said:
Specialized Hardrock Disc Pro.