Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Bike Rider
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding a Pugsley for a couple years in the cold Minnesota winters, and I've always had problems with the brake calipers leaking oil around the piston seal. It seems to happen at any temperature, and I do not know if it leaks worse as the temps drop. It just leaks all the time. Now the leak has gotten bad enough that the oil is dripping off the caliper at the end of a ride, and it's time to finally do something about it. (I know, should have looked into it WAY sooner, but I am the King of Procrastination, so I didn't) The leak has gotten progressively worse as time has gone on. I almost didn't even notice it in the beginning.

I am using out-of-the-box Hayes Stroker Trail hydro brakes, and I've never bled them. They've worked great from day one... other than the annoying leak. I have only ridden the bike in the summer one time for about 20 minutes, and it was on sandy singletrack. Other than that, the bike has only been on nice clean snowy singletrack through the woods. Never been on a road with salt or sand. No commuting. Still have the little nipple-fuzzy things on the endomorphs, apparently soft snow doesn't wear out tires very fast. :D