Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 91 Posts

·
Living Ghetto Fabulous!
3,748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Dropmachine.com did a pretty comprehensive review on high end hubs... (Guess which one was prefered in the end?)

Read it here. :thumbsup:

·
hands up who wants to die
1,405 Posts
lol Kings are $700 now...

·
hands up who wants to die
1,405 Posts
oops I'm dense.

My King hasn't had any problems in 5 years with zero maintenance done. Switched to Hadley rear hubs for my other bikes due to the better price; no problems there either. Hope front hubs are very light at a great price.

·
GAME ON!
4,965 Posts
pretty lame review. it basically states that there is no discernible difference between the hubs and quality evidently does not count for much. dt 240s should not even be in that list.

·
meow meow
10,622 Posts
im a newb when it comes to hubs. can some explain the differing degrees of engagement and their effects to me? thanks.

·
meow meow
10,622 Posts
William42 said:
it effects how far the cranks/pedals will freespin before they catch and start putting power into the wheel. More engagements mean that the cranks will freespin less and put power down faster.

I thought it was pretty bang on.
thanks, thats kinda what i thought but i wasnt really sure. is it really noticable say if i went from a decore to a hope hub would i be like "wow".

·
Living Ghetto Fabulous!
3,748 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
saturnine said:
pretty lame review. it basically states that there is no discernible difference between the hubs and quality evidently does not count for much. dt 240s should not even be in that list.
Pretty un-bias article if you ask me... Since the guts of DT hubs aren't much different from each other, they're a viable alternative to the 440 to save grams.

I've dealt with Kings, and owned DTs and Hadleys. Of those brands, everything the review states is on point.

·
GAME ON!
4,965 Posts