Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, so I've been riding BMX for about 6 years now and I'm actually pretty good at it. Especially dirt jumping. A friend of mine is going to start getting into the mountain biking thing because we both used to be pretty hardcore mountain bike freaks( for 8th graders) and kinda fell off. Anyway I'm going to get into it with him. I've been doing some online "window shopping" and I'm stuck. I don't know weather to get a single or dual suspension bike. I plan to do alot of freeriding and dirt jumping so I figured a single suspension freeride bike. But then again, I wan't to be open to different styles of mountain biking, so I thought the DS would be the better choice in case I wan't to start going down some sick trails. Herein lies my dilema. I've become very fond of the Cove foreplay and the Iron Horse Yakuzza Ojiki. Basically I can only spend about $1100 but i'm willing to spend a teeny bit more if I have a good enough reason to. I realize $1000 will buy me a better single suspension than a better dual. But I figured having the DS in general would benifit me more in the long run. Like I said, I'd really like to do alot of dirt jumping and I'm not sure if a single SS would benefit me more than a DS. I chose to ask this question on MTB because I've seen the thousands of threads and reply's from extremely experienced to rookie riders and I'd love to get feedback from anyone that knows what they are talking about.

·
493 Posts
Some things to consider:
-A hardtail will be best for dirt jumping and urban style riding.
- If you're going to be riding hard and going large, consider the components you'll be getting. The better quality components you'll get on a $1k hardtail will last longer than lower quality components on a $1k full suspension bike.
-Replacing componets all the time is both expensive and not a good use of time.