Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
just ride
775 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I'm new into this mtn. bike thing and I like it alot. I started riding maybe 5 mos. ago. Anyways, I currently own a '99 Trek singletrack hardtail. I like it except for the fact that the streering bar is way in the front and it's putting alot of pressure on my lower back when I'm going uphill.

Here's the situation. I have a lower back problem (muscle sphasm) nothing too serius but
I still want to be cautious about it. I'm 5'6" and my Trek frame size is 17". I feel like the steering bar is too low and too far from the seat that everytime I pedal uphill I can feel the pressure on my lower back. Another thing is that when I go downhill the ride is very bumpy even if I'm already standing up on the pedals.

I go to Joseph Grant Park in Alum Rock, San Jose, Ca. This is an advance trail. Me and my friends do 3-5 hours run up and down the hill. The max speed I got on the down hill is around 31mph. I think that's good enough for me.

If you were in my situation and have $600 to buy a new bike which bike would you recommend. I know $600 is a huffy bike for most of you guys but I'm buying a Mazdaspeed3 this weekend and I want to use the money on that car instead. Which bike would you guys recommend? The bike ride at the park is pretty much 60% uphill and 40%downhill.

What's a good bike that's reliable, comfortable, cheap, dependable and lighter than 30lbs?
Which bike should I get a hard tail or full suspention?

Please let me know. I want to get one asap!

Thanks guys!

·
Freshly Fujified
8,199 Posts

·
Banned
462 Posts
Call_me_Clyde said:
If so, here's the best deal going:

http://www.ibexbikes.com/Bikes/TR-COMP-X7-Details.html

If not, then perhaps this bike at $600:

http://www.rscycle.com/s.nl/it.A/id.7943/.f?sc=12&category=-112