Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking at getting into mountain biking. I ran cross country all of middle school and high school. Ran in college but not for a school. Now Im a school teacher and wanting to get into a better sport than running. I have a budget of 600-700 ish. I have looked at the Trek X-caliber 6 and 7 along with the Cannondale Trail 6 and 5 29er. Wondering which one should I get. Any advice would be great.

·
Registered
5,767 Posts
Guess I'm trying to decide if it's worth buying the step up in each of the bikes and what components are the best.
It's always better to step up if you can afford it.
Buy the most high end bike you can afford. You will be happier with it and it will last you longer. Even just few hundred dollars makes a huge difference at the low end price points.

·
Registered
1,069 Posts
Looking at getting into mountain biking. I ran cross country all of middle school and high school. Ran in college but not for a school. Now Im a school teacher and wanting to get into a better sport than running. I have a budget of 600-700 ish. I have looked at the Trek X-caliber 6 and 7 along with the Cannondale Trail 6 and 5 29er. Wondering which one should I get. Any advice would be great.
So, the standard answers to your question are: a) consider buying a used bike to get more for your money, b) buy the bike that fits you best, c) buy from the LBS that you think will support you best, d) consider spending more money so that you won't have to upgrade very soon...