Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a beginner looking for LA area rides that resemble some of the more demanding sections of the Leadville 100. I've watched some videos and the Powerline descent(and climb) seem to be the most difficult for a beginner. Where can I find such a road with similar grade and ruts to train on? If you are familiar with the course and there are other technical sections where I should focus my preparation, please point them out and suggest trails to practice on. Thanks,
Jeff

·
Registered
4,584 Posts
I'm a beginner looking for LA area rides that resemble some of the more demanding sections of the Leadville 100. I've watched some videos and the Powerline descent(and climb) seem to be the most difficult for a beginner. Where can I find such a road with similar grade and ruts to train on? If you are familiar with the course and there are other technical sections where I should focus my preparation, please point them out and suggest trails to practice on. Thanks,
Jeff
Maybe too far out your way, but i recall a trail in OC called Main (Pain) Divide that you could check out.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,065 Posts
Powerline is not as bad as it looks, with the exception of a few short parts. The super steep sections you should just plan on walking (up) on race day. The energy expenditure is not worth it relative to the benefit you get.

Leadville is not technical and IMO you can just pre-ride the Powerline descent the few days before the race.

If you want to be mentally prepared for Columbine, I'd suggest the Mt. Wilson toll road.

·
Registered
477 Posts
We did a lot of our long training rides around Ojai.
Typical ride was up and over Suphur Mountain then up Sisar, across Nordhoff Ridge and down Gridley. Lot's of fire road, with multiple super long climbs.