Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I've been working a job for the past 3 months that requires me to work from home. Not a big deal, but I live w/ 3 other roommates and we don't have any extra space for me to set up a dedicated office. My bedroom is big, but I spend my whole day in my room and its starting to get on my nerves!

For those of you who also work from home: How do you do it? Any advice would be a great help. I would love to get my own place w/ a dedicated room as my office, but that would require more rent $.

Thanks

·
Registered
207 Posts
I spent 5 years working from home, and had the same issues even though I had a dedicated office space set up. Spending a whole day in the house got on my nerves, particlarly on those 16 hour days - which were far too often. It's easy to spend too much time at the desk when working from home. Be careful of that. I've seen some talented people burn themselves out working at home because they don't know how to stop.

Do you have flexible hours?

If you do, jump on your bike halfway through the day. Anything to get out for awhile.

Do you need to be tied to your computer? If not, bring some work to a coffee shop or library, anywhere other than your room and vary it often. This makes a huge difference.

The key is getting out, and if it's on a bike you win. Your office is going to be boring no matter where you are. After 2 years back in a real office I miss the home office. I certainly rode more while working more hours than I do now.

·
I walk up hills
186 Posts
ribaldmanikin is exactly right, I work from home and find that I have to take breaks, more so that I did when in the office. I have my stuff set-up in the corner of my laundry room, as I needed somewhere I could close off to the Wife, Kid, pets etc