Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Grip it and rip it.
1,219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How many years riding have you done and how many 12 hour races have you done before considering a 24 hour solo? I am getting itching thoughts about trying one, but at times a sensible side of me says that im not ready.

I have been riding since year 2000, done two 12 hour solo races and a 100 mile race, two 80 mile races and somewhere between half a dozen and a dozen 100km races. I have also been doing the odd xc race most years since i started riding, apart from a big gap from 05-07 where i didnt have a lot of consistent riding and training, and some dabbling in downhill for a few years, hence the lack of fitness for someone thats been riding for such a long time.

I know it depends what my aims for the event are, if i entered a 24 solo i wouldnt like to see a lap time on my results sheet of 6 hours where i obviously went for a sleep. I think this would be an absolute last resort for me. My aim would be to ride for the whole duration of the event, with only really stopping for food like in the 12 hour races while still standing on the bike.

So, i know its hard to know much about my fitness from this. But when do you know you are ready?

Thanks for any input.

·
Registered
767 Posts
Is anyone EVER really ready? LOL! Sound to me like you're fit, have the endurance bug bad, and the itch to try one. Go for it! I've had varying results in 24 hour solos attempts but have done a hand full. Pacing and fueling are the hardest, with an extra scoop of mental issues on top. Once the event starts the riding is the easy part! LOL! A good pit crew or at least someone to kick you in the a** and give you some tough love is [email protected] nice too. Keep cruising this forum there is some good advice, and some knowledgeable folks like Lynda Wallenfels who may chime in with some advice.