Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’m pretty new to the single track stuff. Been riding asphalt on a mountain bike for several years. I have started riding some more aggressive trails in NW Arkansas and ran into a situation last week I didn’t know how to fix. Rode out at Hobbs park and some of the climbs I hit I either kept weight back to not lose traction and couldn’t keep frontend on ground, or leaned forward to keep frontend down and spun the back tire and couldn’t keep momentum. I had to get off and walk a couple of the hills and looking for advice on how to fix this next time out.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
slow
7,734 Posts
Keep your center of gravity low and in motion. Varying terrain calls for constant adjustment of your position on the bike. Minor adjustments to your position can make a big difference. Sometimes just dropping the elbows a bit is enough to change the center of gravity and allow the rear tire to hook up without bringing the front end up. Also, over-inflated rear tires have less traction.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Keep your center of gravity low and in motion. Varying terrain calls for constant adjustment of your position on the bike. Minor adjustments to your position can make a big difference. Sometimes just dropping the elbows a bit is enough to change the center of gravity and allow the rear tire to hook up without bringing the front end up. Also, over-inflated rear tires have less traction.
Good point.. what psi should I be running FS Giant Trance.

·
since 4/10/2009
34,596 Posts
Good point.. what psi should I be running FS Giant Trance.

"if in doubt, let it out"

if you ding your rims, your tire pressure is too low. if your tires are squirmy or they fold over in corners, your tire pressure is too low.