Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Best wheel option for XC Marathons?

• DT 240s / Revolution Spokes / Stan's 355 Rims ($$$, lightest)

Votes: 17 54.8%
  • Hope Pro II / Revolution Spokes / Stan's 355 Rims ($$, light)

Votes: 11 35.5%
  • Bontrager Race-X-Lite TLR built wheels ($, heaviest)

Votes: 3 9.7%
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I think I've got my wheel options narrowed down. However, because I've become completely obsessed with this now, I'm going to run an opinion poll to see what everyone thinks is my best option.

·
Registered
72 Posts
I didn't vote because I didn't see the option I would choose. I would go with the 240, the 355 and either Competitions or supercomps.

I am a mechanic of 20 years and have built thousands of wheels. I don't like the Rev's, there is too much spoke windup because they are so thin.

For the small weight difference the other two choices will build a stronger less flexible wheel that is easier to work on in the future.

Just my opinion...

Robb

·
Registered
339 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
3 Pin said:
I didn't vote because I didn't see the option I would choose. I would go with the 240, the 355 and either Competitions or supercomps.

I am a mechanic of 20 years and have built thousands of wheels. I don't like the Rev's, there is too much spoke windup because they are so thin.

For the small weight difference the other two choices will build a stronger less flexible wheel that is easier to work on in the future.

Just my opinion...

Robb
Thanks for the write-in. I thought about Supercomps but then I also figured that for my weight, 136lbs, the Revolutions should be ok. I built a set of cyclocross wheels back in the fall with DT 240s, Revolutions and NOS Mavic Helium tubular rims. They went together nice and easy and didn't have a single problem the entire season.

·
Registered
769 Posts