Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've never built a wheelset before but I would like to build a set, some red rims to go with my bike, but I'm a little lost on the details. I have the "Zinn" book of mountain bike maintainence and have read through it but I also heard that the different sides of the wheel have different spoke lengths? Also, I heard there is a certain way they need to be laced for disc hubs, which I'll be using. Does anyone know where I can get this info. I know it's a large feat but it's something I'd like to tackle and know that what I'm riding on, I've done myself. Thanks!:thumbsup:

·
Registered
538 Posts
It's not so much hard as kind of an art. How about you find one of the local mechanics in a shop and have a session on Saturday AM while it's quiet with donuts. The books are a great reference, but nothing beats hand on with someone who knows at hand to say "you've got it all wrong" while it's just laced not trued and tensioned.

·
Registered
2,289 Posts
I have used Mike T's guide and Sheldon Brown's for a number of wheels. Take your time, pay attention and you will be fine. It may not be the perfect wheel first time but it will perfectly serviceable and should give you plenty of life.

Wombat

·
Registered
172 Posts
The Brandt book worked well for me. On the correct lacing of a front disc hub follow his instructions for a rear with the front disc side being the equivalent of the freewheel side on the rear. That will leave your pulling spokes oriented correctly.

·
Registered
2,440 Posts
Wombat said:
I have used Mike T's guide and Sheldon Brown's for a number of wheels. Take your time, pay attention and you will be fine. It may not be the perfect wheel first time but it will perfectly serviceable and should give you plenty of life.

Wombat