Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Howell, MI
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have the same question going in the save some weight forum. Might find a better answer here.

I'm somewhat new to this weight obsession thing. I am trying to figure out the weight of this wheel build. Individual weights are easy enough to figure, but what about the complete build?
Valve stems, nipples, rim strips/tape? I would want to run tubeless. Is Stan's yellow tape enough to seal the Olympic rim? Will regular nipples work, or are they special?

This as you know will be expensive. I just want to get an informed result before I make the decision to commit.

Here is what I'm considering.

Hubs: Dt Swiss 240S 154/273 g = 427 g
Spokes Sapim CX-Ray Spokes X 64 = 278 g
Stan's ZTR Olympic Disc 347/347g = 694 g
DT alloy nipples X 64 = 28 g
Stan's yellow tape 10 g?
Total 1437 g

Would my wheels really weigh less than 1500 g????

·
Registered
6,762 Posts
What you have there will probably weigh....