Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In you past builds how have you preferred to spend your $$ i...nice rims..obviously carbon and moderate priced hubs...think DT350,Hope4 etc or the opposite quality aluminum rims and high end hubs..CK/Onyx/I9 etc?
Thanks.

·
Always in the wrong gear
3,330 Posts
I’ve been riding the same Hadley hubs for like 8 years. First they were laced into Stan’s Flows. Then into Nextie i30 Carbon. Then into Nextie i43 Carbon.

I’m currently building up a new set, Spank Trail 345’s and Hope hubs, boost front, SS/Trials rear.

Let’s be real, if I could afford Onyx or I9 hubs, I’d probably ride those. I’m a bit of a PoE snob.
I’ve chosen that to be important to me.

I’m pretty OK with most any rim that isn’t a boat anchor, or made of cheese.
I’ve had several sets of import carbon, and while they ride great, and held up well to some damned hard abuse, I don’t really race so this time I’m going alloy for the economics. I got a screamin’ deal on the Trail 345s for $52 each from CRC.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,729 Posts
Very interesting question now that frame & hub and freehub standards are changing so often. Also only a few OEM wheel suppliers offer hubs with the new Shimano micrsospline driver (though hopefully this will change over the next year or so).

On the rim side of things, at least on the carbon side, we're at the state of a new wave of technology whereby rims will be more vertically compliant (e.g. Zipp 101, CB Synthesis). Also, while we're getting closer to norms for inner width for a given tyre size, its far from being standardised.

Thus, I wouldn't be putting big $$ into rims now, and I'd think long & hard about putting big $$ into premium hubs.