1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
emtb.pl
879 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

Semi-internal bearings on a LT2
Am I stupid or there's sth wrong. I see in July 08 edition of MBA:
'semi-internal headset bearings offset some of the fork height'
It's the second time I see this in MBA. They've mentioned it before, May or June 08
I own the bike and have King headset on it. They have the new Crankbrothers headset on it. Both std, threadless headsets with external bearing cups, right?
So WTF? Twice such info in MBA

·
emtb.pl
879 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
audi0phile said:
RC is a writer, not an engineer, not a product manager.
Agreed.
Still after so many years of testing/riding he should know. And if you say sth like this twice, you mean it, you don't mean the cups are low or the stack height is low.
Strange. I don't blame anyone or anything - I'm just surprised and wondering if I missed sth on my bike.
I'm no engineer but I can tell the difference.

·
emtb.pl
879 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Jerk_Chicken said:
This was the guy behind Mantis bikes and I'm wondering if he's deviating away from what he knew to how to sort of explain things to n00b's looking at the mag.
I understand simple language. but saying LT2 has semi-internal headset bearings is just wrong. not missunderstood. just wrong.

·
noMAD man
12,227 Posts
I don't know...sounds like much-to-do-about-nothing. Not particularly trying to defend RC here, but isn't this just a semantics thing? I mean...what is a semi-internal headset? Unless the whole headset device is on the outside of the headtube, isn't a standard, old school headset semi-internal? Part of the headset is pressed into the headtube on an old school headset. Is that semi-internal? Has this term been used as an official designation for a headset design before? I guess I've only noticed integrated and zero stack headsets as being relatively new or different. What is the official engineering name for an old school headset other than the title "threadless"?