Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick question, what's a nice average weight for a mountain bike these days? I don't know if it's because I'm a noob or what, but I'm getting my ass handed to me on some local trails, and it's either one of two things, I'm not pedaling hard enough or these guys have lighter bikes. My bike weighs in at 26 lbs.

·
Registered
72 Posts
AM bikes usually seem to be ~30lb, DH bikes ~40lb, and I'm not sure about XC bikes. Your bike weight probably isn't the issue, you just need to ride more, though tires might be a factor...

·
Registered
9,951 Posts
26lb is very light.

Rider weight counts SO much more than people realize. the 220lb guys trying to shave grams off a 25lb bike have no chance against a strong 150lb rider on a 32lb bike. Everyone likes a light bike, but fitness and body weight are enormous advantages, drastically more than a couple pounds of bike.

·
Registered
471 Posts
I agree with the above posts. Rider weight is so much more important, as is a riders strength. I rode with buddies the other day on their ~22lb, carbon 29er xc bikes with me on my AM 30lb beast and was the fastest out of all of us. It wasn't that my bike was the lightest, it was that I've been riding forever and they haven't.
When I used to race on the road and was new to it, even though I LOOKED fitter and stronger, I'd get my butt handed to me by "fat" looking guys that had been riding forever. I learned very quickly that it's all about the rider and not the machine. Little factors (like the above poster said) like tires can make a difference, but the determining factor in whether or not you keep up comes down to the engine and what kind of skills it has.

·
Registered
522 Posts
It's because you call yourself a noob. Change your title to expert and you will automatically go faster.

And +1 to what others have said.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #9