Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
162 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to tubeless, and had my first puncture yesterday. I had been routinely carrying a pump and spare tube, but while I had both 26" and 29" bikes, carrying the right tube got a little error prone. Yesterday, I had nothing but was lucky to flat half a mile from civilization. Warning taken ..

So ... what is in your tubeless repair kit?

In particular, do you carry:

1) spare tube
2) tubeless plugs (if so, which brand)
3) pump
4) co2 and inflator nozzle
5) tire boots
6) spare valve stem
7) valve stem remover
8) tire levers
9) extra sealant (and injector for valve stem?)

·
Hoolie Ghoulie on Strava.
Ripmo
3,429 Posts
One tube, one mini pump (it can pump up unlimited tires), automotive tire plugs cut into 2 widths (You can jam them in with multi tool), Expired drivers license for tire boot & ID if I am unconscious, extra presta valve (it weighs nothing). If I am on Sierra Nevada all day ride, I or someone else carries a patch kit, and 2nd tube. My multi tool can take out valve cores. We are all really blessed to be using modern rubber. Very reliable tires in 2019, just Fantastic!

·
Registered
506 Posts
I ride light and learned to fit the essentials in a small hip pack. In the five years since going tubeless I’ve had one unrepairable pinch flat that stans didn’t seal immediately and permanently. Most short rides I ditch the tube as I’d rather walk out for 20-30 mins than deal with levers on stubborn tire beads, sealant, and burn a tube just to get back to the car.
On longer backcountry rides I take the tube +
Levers, patch kit, mini pump, and plug kit (genuine innovations) $7 on eBay.
Keep the valve cores and tool in the car.

What are tire boots?

·
Registered
9,754 Posts
Tube (includes spare valve), lever, stick-on patches, mini-pump, and $20 bill for a tire boot. I don't go cheap where safety is involved.