Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for approx. two months, 5 - 6 days a week, and recently switched to mornings. Like practically everyone else that is just starting, I am trying to lose some weight while getting my cardio up. What's a good breakfast to eat before a ride, keeping in mind that I usually have to shovel it in, then hop on the bike right afterwards? Currently I like oatmeal or cream of wheat (yum) with some honey, approx. 300 calories total, and a banana. Maybe a nofat bagel thrown in. I don't want to eat anything too heavy obviously. Any other do's or don'ts? Thanks.

·
Registered
190 Posts
i'm no expert but i'd say you're on the right track. i, personally would throw in a little protein too. like a couple egg whites or maybe some peanut butter on toast. i like to mix some whey protein into my smoothies.

·
Registered
927 Posts
if you're trying to to lose weight

Stay away from the bagels! All bagels are relatively low fat, it's not the fat content in food that adds weight it's the carbohydrates or calories in it that people just don't use. If you eat something with a high carb of calorie content then it simply digests and if you don't use it then it turns to fat in your body. Bagels, potatoes, pasta, bread, pop, are some items that are huge in calories and if you read a can of coke it contains no fat at all.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
11 miles this morning, didn't feel great starting out cause I ate like 20 minutes before I rode, but got better a little later. 7:30am is way too late to start riding in Phoenix this time of year, I went through a gallon of water.

Thanks for the replies. No bagels huh? Dang it! Anything else that is a little more solid that I can substitute?

·
bang
1,288 Posts