Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 20 of 72 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My wife and I have a pug (her choice) right now. And I say the next dog Im going to pick cause I want a dog I can take biking with me. What's a good breed that can take a little heat cause I am in VA? I have some good experience with training dogs, so I am not worried so much about that. I am leaning right now towards a german shephard, but wanted to get some input.

·
Registered
629 Posts
num1badz said:
My wife and I have a pug (her choice) right now. And I say the next dog Im going to pick cause I want a dog I can take biking with me. What's a good breed that can take a little heat cause I am in VA? I have some good experience with training dogs, so I am not worried so much about that. I am leaning right now towards a german shephard, but wanted to get some input.
Supposedly, german sheperds, collies, australian sheperds, and boxers are all good. I would go with an aussie because they are the smallest and wont be squished in tight spots. Never go with hunting dogs, hounds, or terriers, because they get distracted easily and might run off. Other dogs to avoid are the very large like mastiffs and great danes, they dont like running. Sadly, theres no hope for my bernese mountain dog puppy, as he cant walk in a straight line and doesnt do too well in heat.

Attachments

·
Who are the brain police?
10,112 Posts
None.

num1badz said: