Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK i know many of you are going to tell me the whole bike but untill money allows i am gonna do what i can to this., it is a 2008 specialized hardrock. I am wanting to do urban on. i am also gonna do some trails and sidewalks with my wife so for now i am gonna keep it a multi speed. i thought about just keeping the middle gear up front though to eliminate some of the moving parts. I also think i want to get a shorter seat tube as i can get the stock one very low at all. Also what size tires are preferred for urban? yes i am fairly new to all this stuff. any other upgrades you guys can think of? P.S. i am not gonna be taking any 5' drops for a while so keep that in mind and thanks.

·
Registered
86 Posts
The Hardrock isn't bad but I don't think it's ideal for jumping or agressive riding. I had a 2004 Hardrock Pro in 17", rode mostly light jumps some trails, nothing really crazy. Took the bike to local bmx park and after a few sessions crashed hard enough to break my collar bone.

The bike isn't really to blame but it feels more like you are over the front tire than a dirt jump frame so be careful if you try anything aggressive. I never noticed this before but I recently bought a Giant STP and after riding the new bike then going back to the old bike, amazing difference. The STP feels so much more shorter and you sit father back.

If you are going to keep the Hardrock I would shorten the stem to the shortest possible. I think mine was somewhat longer even tho the frame was a medium. Beyond that I'm not sure how to suit a cross country bike better for urban.

Anyways, if you are going to ride the Hardrock it's a good frame, if you do break it, Specialized will replace the frame. I know from first hand. :D

http://picasaweb.google.com/rfreiberger/Bicycles/photo#5218631995598637218

·
Registered
88 Posts