Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. I have been looking on this website alot recently to try to get an idea about what bike to get. I am a 19 year old, college student complete newb (aka low on funds) who is just getting into mountain biking. I have been reading the suggestions for other people on what to get, but of course I have to post my own details. I would be using the bike for commuting to class daily as well as taking it on trails with small drops and mostly roots, sticks, small logs...in the Alabama/Georgia border area. My roommates are getting a hardrock and a rockhopper, but I feel I can get a better deal than they are getting with one of these. I really can't go over $500 as that's all I can afford at the time. I have been looking at the Ibex Ignition-2 stock from Ibex on sale right now or the Alpine 550 stock as well.
Or, I can get a 2005 Model - Trek 4500 500 miles on it Rally Blue & Metallic Black color (either 19.5 or 22.5 frame not sure..but for a 6'-6.1 male Rock Shocks T T's Shimano Diore - D'railers Shimano Crankset Trek Computer 9-i Shimano Disc Hubs Bontrager Tires Crowbar handlebar set Tekpro brakes Trek - Truck storage under seat Montrager Seat - Leather - upgrade Dual Bottle holders Dual Duty Rim Diore Shimano Shifters Trek Cell Phone Holder
I know the Judy fork on the Trek isn't great, and I don't know how it compares with the Ignition or Alpine, but the Trek has better derailleurs I believe. How do I factor all this into the cost all being pretty equal at $500?