Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Back on the wagon
1,091 Posts
I generally have to look at something at least twice before I'll ride it. Once I ride it though, I usually hit it ever time. Confidence is a wonderful performance enhancer!

·
customized
3,123 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Funny how confidence works though.

I rode with riders that were at my level or lower for a few years. Just last year I started riding with people leaps and bounds more skilled then I am. Now this year I am riding with lots of people that are better then me and I am really coming along. There are moves I would never do before, now I am picking them off one by one. Heck, if it hadn't rained like crazy I was gonna hit about 5 moves on the Concord Hospital trails that I haven't ever cleared. I was planning on trying them over and over until I either cleared them, became exhausted, or fell enough to give up.

·
Black Lion
4,431 Posts
I have a big one.

Let me describe.
the section starts off with a two foot off camber rock face. As soon as you get over the face you need to make a hard right to get onto another three foot rock face. Did I mention there is loose rock everywhere. Also you are climbing as this is happening.
another HUGE point is that I broke my ankle on this very spot two years ago in a crash.
This adds up to very little confidence for this section.

Well after avoiding this section for a long time. I finally stepped up to it last weekend. Didn't clean it but attempted it for real. Monday I cleaned it after almost a two year mind freeze.

I ride some stuff that makes this particular section look like a cake walk. It is all a mind game. Mind over matter.

Greg

·
~*~*~*~*~
590 Posts
yogreg said:
Well after avoiding this section for a long time. I finally stepped up to it last weekend. Didn't clean it but attempted it for real. Monday I cleaned it after almost a two year mind freeze.